Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
2024 Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism { $ 5,000 }

2024 Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism { $ 5,000 }

Self Funded
Country: Africa
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


2024 Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism { $ 5,000 }

The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) invites freelance journalists, local reporters and news fixers from around the world to submit entries for the 23rd annual 2024 Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism.

The Committee to Protect Journalists reports the number of journalists killed and imprisoned in 2023 reached near-record highs. As levels of violence and intimidation against media professionals surge, this recognition remains as vital as ever.

Named in memory of American freelance journalist Kurt Schork, who was killed in 2000 while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone, the Awards recognise the bravery of journalists who take great personal risk, often for little reward, to shine a light on the truth and hold power to account.


The three award categories, open to those reporting for print and online publications, recognise the media professionals that Kurt particularly admired:

  • Freelance Award: recognising freelance journalists who travel to the world’s conflict zones, usually at great personal risk, to witness and report on the impact and consequences of these events.
  • Local Reporter Award: recognising the often-overlooked work of journalists in developing nations, or countries in transition, who write about events in their homeland.
  • News Fixer Award: recognising the work of local journalists or experts, typically hired by foreign correspondents, whose guidance and local knowledge play an unsung but vital role in facilitating international coverage from difficult, dangerous or hostile locations.

Check: Allan Gray Makers Inter-College Entrepreneurship Competition 2024


  • The Awards recognize excellence and courage in reporting conflict, corruption, injustice and human rights issues, with winners receiving a $5,000 cash prize.

Also Check: Annual Call for Projects: Digital Energy Challenge 2024

Eligibility for 2024 Kurt Schork Awards

  • Entrants for the Local Reporter and Freelance Awards are required to submit three articles each.
  • The articles must have been published between June 01, 2023, and May 31, 2024.
  • Judges will evaluate submissions based on journalistic excellence.
  • Applicants should demonstrate evidence of determination and courage in obtaining their stories.

You should check out: National Essay Writing Competition 2024 for Ethiopian students

Application of 2024 Kurt Schork Awards

Applications are now open and the deadline for submissions is midnight (GMT) on Friday, May 31, 2024.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline31 March,2024
OrganizerKurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF)
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.