Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
2024 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists 

 2024 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists 

Country: All
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


2024 Livingston Awards for Young Journalists 

Apply now for the Livingston Awards for Young Journalists and elevate your storytelling journey. The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists were established in 1981 to recognize outstanding reporting and bolster the careers of journalists under the age of 35. For more than four decades, the Livingston Awards have identified exceptional young journalists and the next generation of newsroom leaders.

The Livingston Awards invite print, online, video, audio and data visualization entries. In addition, the Richard M. Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. The Clurman Award is presented alongside the annual Livingston Awards. More about the Clurman Award 

Winning the award helps talented young reporters develop the confidence and the institutional backing to continue producing ambitious projects. National recognition leads winners to new stories, new audiences and new career opportunities. The distinguished names of past winners include David Remnick, Christiane Amanpour, Ira Glass, Michelle Norris and Steve Coll.


  • Prizes of $10,000 will be presented in three categories: local, national and international reporting.
  • There is no entry fee.
  • Prize money is paid directly to the journalists, not the media organizations.

“It might be of interest to explore”

Eligibility for the Livingston Awards for Young Journalists

  • Multiple bylines are eligible, but all must meet the age criteria.
  • One entry per individual is accepted. One entry can be a single piece or a maximum of three pieces either from a published series, an original piece and its follow-up developments or three pieces clearly tied together in a beat. All pieces of the series must be published by the same organization.
  • There is no limit to the number of entries that a media organization can submit, provided that they enter only one entry per reporter.
  • Individuals may apply on their own, or be entered by their organization.
  • Print, online, video, audio and data visualization work are eligible. Still photography is not eligible.
  • The work must appear in U.S.-controlled media. Entrants are not required to be U.S. citizens.
  • Entries must be directly related to current events or include new information about old events. Features and commentary are eligible.
  • Submissions must consist of materials prepared in the ordinary course of the journalist’s professional production. Materials prepared by journalists specifically for submission to the Livingston Awards do not qualify.
  • Student media completed solely as a class assignment or for a college or university publication is not eligible.
  • Journalism produced by students and published by a media organization serving a general audience is eligible.
  • Competition is limited to work published or appearing during the calendar year ending December 31, 2023.
  • The Livingston Awards reserves the right to use any part or whole of any entered piece for publicity or educational purposes.
  • Winners will participate in an outreach event arranged by the Livingston Awards

Deadlines for the Livingston Awards for Young Journalists.

  • Entries for work published in 2023 open in November 2023.
  • The deadline for entering work published in 2023 is 11:59 p.m. PT on February 1, 2024.
  • Finalists will be notified by April 1, 2024 and announced later that month.
  • The winners will be introduced and honored at our Livingston Awards luncheon in New York City.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 February,2024
Contact the organizer (734) 998-7666



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.