Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Awa Prize 2023: Celebrating African Women Writers

Awa Prize 2023: Celebrating African Women Writers

Fully Funded
Country: Belgium
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Awa Prize 2023: Celebrating African Women Writers


The Awa Prize 2023 is an exciting literary competition that celebrates the creativity and talent of African women writers. This prestigious award recognizes and honors the outstanding literary contributions of women authors from across the African continent.

About the Awa Prize:

  • A Platform for African Women Writers: The Awa Prize provides a platform for emerging and established African women writers to showcase their literary prowess and share their unique stories with a global audience.
  • Promoting African Literature: The prize aims to promote African literature and highlight the rich literary heritage of the continent. It encourages women writers to explore diverse themes, narratives, and genres.
  • Supporting Women in Literature: By recognizing the achievements of African women writers, the Awa Prize seeks to empower and inspire more women to pursue careers in literature and storytelling.

Key Highlights:

  • Open to Various Genres: The Awa Prize accepts entries in various literary genres, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and short stories. This allows writers to express themselves in their preferred style.
  • Cash Prizes: Winners of the Awa Prize receive cash prizes as a token of recognition for their exceptional work. These prizes can help support writers in their literary endeavors.
  • Publication Opportunities: In addition to cash prizes, selected entries may have the opportunity to be published in literary magazines or anthologies, further enhancing the visibility of the authors.

Eligibility Criteria:

The Awa Prize is typically open to African women writers of all ages and backgrounds. However, specific eligibility criteria, submission guidelines, and deadlines can vary from year to year. To ensure you meet the requirements for the 2023 edition of the prize, please visit the official Awa Prize 2023 page for the most up-to-date information.

Why You Should Participate:

Participating in the Awa Prize 2023 is an excellent opportunity for African women writers to gain recognition, share their stories, and contribute to the rich tapestry of African literature. Whether you’re an emerging talent or an established author, this competition offers a chance to celebrate your creativity and connect with a community of like-minded writers.

Celebrate African Women Writers:

African women writers have made significant contributions to world literature, offering unique perspectives and stories that deserve to be celebrated. The Awa Prize is a platform that honors their creativity and voices.

Take Action:

If you are an African woman writer or aspiring to be one, don’t miss the opportunity to participate in the Awa Prize 2023. Check the official website for submission guidelines, deadlines, and other details, and start preparing your literary masterpiece.

Join the ranks of celebrated African women writers and share your story with the world through the Awa Prize. Visit the official Awa Prize 2023 page to get started on your literary journey.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Open toAll Nationalities



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.