Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
European Commission Access City Award 2025 (up to €350,000 in prizes)

European Commission Access City Award 2025 (up to €350,000 in prizes)

Country: Europe
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


European Commission Access City Award 2025 (up to €350,000 in prizes)

Since 2010, the European Commission organises the Access City Award, in collaboration with the European Disability Forum, to reward EU cities that have prioritised accessibility for persons with disabilities. Accessibility improves the quality of life of everyone, but it is indispensable for more than 100 million EU citizens with disabilities to have equal access to fundamental rights and to all the cities have to offer.

A city is accessible when persons with disabilities can, for instance:

  • get information (online and offline).
  • use transport (e.g., buses, trams, metros) and its related infrastructure.
  • enjoy public spaces, like parks and playgrounds.
  • get in and around buildings like the city hall, library and sports hall, and access to their services

Award of European Commission Access

  • The winner and runners-up will receive a monetary prize:
    • 1st place: EUR 150,000
    • 2nd place: EUR 120,000
    • 3rd place: EUR 80,000
  • In addition, the EU Jury may decide to award up to five “Special Mentions” if there are cities that have done exceptional work in a particular key area of accessibility (e.g., built environment and public space, transport and related infrastructure, information and communication, including ICT or public facilities and services).
  • This year, the European Commission also intends to award an ‘Accessible Sports Infrastructure’ Special Mention to a city that demonstrates how they feature accessibility in their sports infrastructure.

Check : Creative Business Cup Nigeria 2024 for Entrepreneurs

Eligibility for European Commission Access

The Access City Award is open to:

  • All EU cities of over 50,000 inhabitants.
  • Urban areas composed of two or more towns with a combined population of over 50 000 inhabitants, if they are in EU countries with fewer than 2 cities with over 50 000 inhabitants.

Also You could consider examining : African Studies Center Leiden Africa Thesis Award 2024

Selection Process

The selection process is divided into two phases: pre-selection at national level and final selection at European level. The national juries in each country shortlist a maximum of three cities. Out of the pre-selected candidates, the European Jury selects the winners.

The juries consider measures taken and planned in the following areas:

  • the built environment and public spaces
  • transport and related infrastructure
  • information and communication, including new information and communication technologies
  • public facilities and services
  • exemplary considerations of accessible sports infrastructure (for the Special Mention)

The successful applicant has to demonstrate a coherent approach to accessibility across all four areas and an ambitious vision.


Applications must be made by completing and submitting an online application by 10 September 2024 at 23:59h at the latest.

Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline10 September,2024
OrganizerEuropean Commission



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.