Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
European Press Prize 2021 for Excellence in Journalism

European Press Prize 2021 for Excellence in Journalism

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications call for European Press Prize 2021 for Excellence in Journalism. Journalists from all 47 countries of Europe as defined by the Council of Europe are eligible to enter their work. Journalists working in Europe and journalists writing for a European media organisation or blog can submit their work. The work submitted must have a publication date between December 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020.

Entries Date 

The European Press Prize will welcome entries from October 1, every year. The entry deadline is mid-December. After the entry deadline, our Preparatory Committee will start sifting through entries – ordering translations, consulting observers from journalism university departments, foreign-based correspondents and trusted observers in order to reduce the number of entries to no more than six in each category. The shortlist they select, is being published under ‘Stories’ on the website.


Candidates must not submit articles that are longer than 5,000 words. Articles beyond that limit put a heavy strain on the translation resources and judging committees. So candidates must submit only one article per person for the categories: Investigative Reporting, Distinguished Reporting and Innovation Award. For the Opinion Award, you can enter three pieces per person. If your work is part of a series, you are welcome to mention this in the entry form.


  • The Investigative Reporting Award: For the individual or team effort which has done most to unearth facts that the public – and society – has a right to know.
  • The Distinguished Reporting Award: For the best reportage and feature writing illuminating vital issues at home and abroad.
  • The Opinion Award: For the commentator, columnist or editor whose work has made a decisive impact.
  • The Innovation Award: For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques – that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future.
  • The Special Award: From 2013 on, the judges will be empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.

Terms and Conditions 


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline11 December,2020
Open toAll
OrganizerEuropean Press Prize



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.