Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Journalism for an Equitable Asia Award 2020/21

Journalism for an Equitable Asia Award 2020/21

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are open for Journalism for an Equitable Asia Award 2020-21. Journalism for an Equitable Asia Award aims to recognize and encourage more journalists to write for a fairer Asia that works for all its people. The award will launch onsite or online in several countries in South and Southeast Asia: Bangladesh, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam. Should the COVID-19 pandemic still persist in the early part of 2021 where travel and face-to-face meetings are not possible, then online sessions such as webinars will be held.


The Journalism for an Equitable Asia Award has the following prizes

  • The top 3 winners will receive cash awards and will be recognized at the Award Ceremony.
  • The top 10 journalists will be invited to participate in the Journalism for an Equitable Asia Forum following the Award Ceremony to be held in Bangkok.
  • 5 top journalists from each country will receive certificates recognizing their work.

Criteria for Nomination

Journalists are eligible for nomination if they meet the following criteria:

  • Written English articles of a minimum 650 words in length published in print or digital platform (Any written medium or public platform is eligible given the fulfillment of all the other criteria).
  • Journalists writing two or more pieces published on the theme of inequality crisis and the pandemic from 31st January 2020 to 31st January 2021 will be eligible.
  • The nominated article(s) should cover how vulnerable communities across Asia are facing challenges from COVID-19, but go beyond to include structural issues such as inequality, poverty, and dysfunctional governance from lenses such as economic inequality, women’s rights, public services, taxation, climate justice, etc. They may also discuss practices and policies that contribute to building a fairer Asia.
  • Journalists may also submit articles published in other languages with a mandatory English translation.

Nomination Process

  • Awards nominations can be submitted online: https://bit.ly/36lPkDX
  • Journalists themselves, readers, media institutions or interested others such as civil society and academia may submit nominations.
  • Each valid nomination must contain the name of the journalist, verifiable details of the published article(s) (links), their media affiliation(s), the contact information (Email, WhatsApp/line, phone) of the journalist.
  • While they are required to submit proof of two published articles, they must also indicate which one they’d prefer to be considered for the award.
  • In case online links are not available they can submit the scanned articles (translations) as pdf documents.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline31 January,2021
Open toAll
OrganizerAsia Centre



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.