Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Livingston Awards for Young Journalists 2019/2020 (Up to $10,000)

Livingston Awards for Young Journalists 2019/2020 (Up to $10,000)

Country: USA
City: Michigan
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Application is now open for The Livingston Awards for Young Journalists were established in 1981 to recognize outstanding reporting and bolster the careers of journalists under the age of 35.

The Livingston Awards invites print, online, video, audio and data visualization entries. Moreover, winning the award helps talented young reporters develop the confidence and institutional backing to continue producing ambitious projects. National recognition leads winners to new stories, new audiences, and new career opportunities.

In addition, the Richard M. Clurman Award honors superb on-the-job mentors who improve journalism by exemplifying excellence in nurturing, critiquing and inspiring young journalists. The Clurman Award is presented at the annual Livingston Awards luncheon. Awards are presented at a luncheon event in New York City. Further, leading media figures and the winners’ families and colleagues attend to honor the winners and acknowledge their role in the future of American journalism.

Livingston Awards for Young Journalists

  • The prizes of $10,000 each are presented in three categories:
    • local,
    • national
    • and international reporting.
  • The prize money is directly given to a journalist, not the media organization

Eligibility Criteria

  • Entrants must be 34 years of age or younger as of December 31, 2019.
  • Multiple bylines are eligible, but all must meet the age criteria.
  • One entry per individual is accepted. Similarly, one entry can be a single piece or a maximum of three pieces either from a published series, an original piece and its follow-up developments or three pieces clearly tied together in a beat. Also, all pieces of the series must be published by the same organization. There is no limit to the number of entries that a media organization can submit, provided that they enter only one entry per reporter.
  • Print, online, video, audio and data visualization work is eligible. Still, photography is not eligible.
  • The work must appear in U.S. controlled media. Entrants are not required to be U.S. citizens.
  • Similarly, entries must be directly related to current events or include new information about old events. Features and commentary are eligible.
  • Likewise, submissions must consist of materials prepared in the ordinary course of the journalist’s professional production. Materials prepared by journalists specifically for submission to the Livingston Awards do not qualify.
  • Student media are not eligible.
  • Individuals may apply on their own, or be entered by their organization.
  • Also, competition is limited to work published or appearing during the calendar year ending December 31, 2019.
  • Winners will participate in an outreach event arranged by the Livingston Awards.

How to apply for Livingston Awards?

There is no entry fee.

The entry process is online. Before starting the online entry process, please read this page. It contains information on the entry form and upload requirements.

  • To enter, you will register to create a log in. You can save your information and return to the entry form at any time before your final submission.
  • If you are unable to apply online, please contact us.
  • Also, the Livingston Awards reserves the right to use any part or whole of any entry for publicity or educational purposes.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards Scholarships and Fellowships
Deadline01 February,2020
Open toJournalists
OrganizerUniversity of Michigan
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.