Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award

Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications call for Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award.

Stacy Doris was a poet, translator, and an Associate Professor in San Francisco State University’s Department of Creative Writing, where she taught for ten years. Her poetry is widely recognized; Fledge: A Phenomenology of Spirit, published shortly after her death, is available from Nightboat Books. Poet Maxine Chernoff has referred to it as “a miracle of attentiveness.” She was also highly regarded for her writing in French and her contribution to interactions among contemporary French and American poetry and poets.

Doris created new worlds with her unexpected poetics. Following upon her spirit of creative invention, engaging wit and ingenious playfulness, discovery in construction, and radical appropriations based on classical forms, pastiche, etc., and love, the Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award is given to a poet with a truly inventive spirit.


The winning poet of the award will receive $500 and publication in the 2021 issue of Fourteen Hills. There is no submission fee and poems not chosen for the award will be considered for publication in Fourteen Hills.


Here are the requirements for Stacy Doris Memorial Poetry Award

  • Submission window: Oct. 1, 2020, to January 1, 2021.
  • Submissions only accepted via Submittable.
  • Minimum 3 pages; maximum 10 pages. Also, a maximum of 1 poem per author.
  • Submissions must be previously unpublished material.
  • Students currently enrolled at San Francisco State University are ineligible.
  • Poems submitted for the award will also be considered for publication in Fourteen Hills.
  • Furthermore, the submission file must be in .doc or .docx format (Microsoft Word or Open Office).

Submit Now


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 January,2021
Open toAll
OrganizerFourteen Hills



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.