Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards

The Commonwealth Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards 2021

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


The Commonwealth calls application for Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards 2021. Basically, it recognizes and celebrates the contributions that innovators in the public, private; and not-for-profit sectors are making in advancing the sustainable development goals in Commonwealth countries.

Key Objectives

The Commonwealth Secretary-General’s Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards 2021 aims to

  • Identify, highlight, and support the innovations that show demonstrable potential for advancing sustainable development in Commonwealth countries.
  • Also, help create an environment that will encourage and sustain funding, mentoring, and support to scale up innovations led by governments, businesses, women, young people, and not-for-profit organizations across the Commonwealth.
  • Showcase the depth and breadth of innovation potential, grit, determination, and creativity that exist across the Commonwealth.
  • Similarly, inspire, encourage, and challenge Commonwealth citizens to develop innovations that will make a positive difference to their communities, countries, and the Commonwealth.


Three awards will be given in each of the following five categories:

  • Improve the well-being of Commonwealth PEOPLE
  • Improve PROSPERITY in the Commonwealth
  • Protect the PLANET and the natural environment in the Commonwealth
  • Promote PEACE and justice in the Commonwealth
  • Promote PARTNERSHIPS for development in the Commonwealth.


Each award winner will receive a trophy, a certificate and prize money of £3,000. Award winners will receive ongoing support for their work and may also be invited to participate in high-level forums such as the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting, Commonwealth Business Forum, and Commonwealth Games.

Who can apply?

Nominees must have the following criteria

  • Individuals, groups or teams, organizations, companies, charities, or government ministries/departments/agencies.
  • Directly engaged in developing their innovations, either in a full-time, part-time, or voluntary capacity.
  • Commonwealth citizens, governments, or public sector organizations in Commonwealth countries; private enterprises based in Commonwealth countries, or civil society/not-for-profit organizations based in Commonwealth countries.
  • Innovations must be able to demonstrate impact or potential in achieving progress on one or more of the 17 SDGs in a Commonwealth country (or countries).
  • Furthermore, be willing to take part in Commonwealth-supported activities and initiatives related to the Commonwealth Innovation for Sustainable Development Awards.



Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline31 January,2021
Open toAll
OrganizerThe Commonwealth



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.