Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
The Gender Journalism Awards Competition

The Gender Journalism Awards Competition 2021

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


UN Women calls applications for Gender Journalism Awards Competition 2021. The Awards were inspired by a UN Women Global Campaign: “Generation Equality: Realizing the Rights of Women for an Equal Future” launched in 2019. The campaign is bringing the next generations of women’s rights activists with the gender equality advocates and visionaries who were instrumental in creating the BPfA in 1995, for galvanized actions towards Gender Equality.

Through this campaign, six Action Coalitions were established to drive increased commitment in addressing gender gaps in the following areas: Feminist Movements and Leadership; Gender based violence; Economic Justice and Rights; Feminist Action for Climate Justice; Technology and Innovation for Gender Equality; and Bodily autonomy and sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR). Based on human rights principles, and through a data-driven process of consultation with international feminist groups, grassroots activist organizations, governments and other partners, the coalitions seek to catalyze collective action; spark global and local conversations among generations; drive increased public and private investment; and deliver concrete, game-changing results for girls and women.


The Gender Journalism Awards Competition calls journalists to frame their stories along with the following five categories:

  • The Women’s Rights Activism and Leadership.
  • Protection of Civic Space for Feminist Action and Movement Building.
  • Intergenerational Partnerships for Consensus Building and Succession.
  • Feminist Movements and Financing for a Gender Equal Future.
  • Technology and Innovation for Gender Equality.


A panel of judges will be looking for:

  • Stories that demonstrate knowledge of the subject area, understanding the scope of the category.
  • A gender-lens approach to reporting (gender-responsive).
  • Great Journalism ability, creativity, innovation and integrity.
  • Writes with clarity, simplicity for ease of communication, and demonstrates analytical skills, depth, and an impressive investment in research.
  • Background knowledge of the Generation Equality and ongoing events locally, regionally and globally.
  • Understanding of how the Feminist Movements and Leadership Action Coalition connects with the other 5 Action Coalitions.
  • Demonstrates Tenacity, Courage and ability to develop follow-up stories for more insight on the subject area.


  • The Gender Journalism Awards Competition is open to all professional journalists and freelance journalists, who are at least 18 years of age.
  • Journalists must be working in East and Southern Africa for media organizations that are based in the region (East and Southern Africa) that print publications and electronic news for dissemination in the region as the primary target audience.
  • Journalists do not pay any fee to enter the competition.
  • Entries should have been published between 20 May and 15 October, 2021, which is the deadline for entry.
  • Late and lost entries, illegible or fraudulent entries or acts, or any other entries or acts which bring or would be likely to bring the reputation of the organizers into disrepute shall render the entrant ineligible to participate in the competition and will be disqualified.
  • Journalists must enter ONLY one best story in each of the five categories. Follow-up stories directly linked to the initial story will be counted as a single story.


Candidates must fill in the form and share links to the entries/ stories here. Alternatively, they can also download the Entry Form and send it to: [email protected]

OYA Opportunities is in Telegram too. Catch us here


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline15 October,2021
Open toAll
OrganizerUN Women



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.