Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
The World Academy of Sciences Awards 2020

World Academy of Sciences Award 2020

Country: Developing Countries
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


TWAS, the World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of Science in Developing Countries presents nine awards in the year 2020 to the scientists who are residing and serving the sciences and technology fields in the developing countries. Moreover, individual scientists residing in the developing countries who have an outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in nine fields of sciences and/or to the application of science and technology to sustainable development are eligible for this award.

Award Prize

The World Academy of Sciences Awards 2020 provides nine awards of USD 10,000 each in the following fields: agricultural sciences; biology; chemistry; earth, astronomy and space sciences; engineering sciences; mathematics; medical sciences; physics and social sciences.


Candidates must have the following qualities in order to receive the World Academy of Sciences Awards 2020

  • Candidates must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination. They must meet at least one of the following qualifications; Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought; or Outstanding contribution to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.
  • Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for TWAS Awards.
  • Furthermore, self-nomination is not considerable.


The selection of the awardees depends upon scientific merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members. The names of the winners will be out on the first day of the TWAS General Meeting to be held in November 2020. The winners will get an invitation to receive their award and give a talk during the 2022 TWAS General Meeting.

Additional Information

  • TWAS is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities, and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.
  • Nominations must be made on the on-line nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has made to the development of the particular field of science for which the prize would be awarded.
  • TWAS particularly encourages nominations of women scientists and scientists from scientifically lagging countries.
  • The re-nomination of a previously declined candidate is acceptable only if it bears substantially new elements for judgment.

Click this link for more information.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline16 March,2020
CountryDeveloping Countries
Open toScientists from Developing Countries
OrganizerThe World Academy of Sciences



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.