Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
United Nations Nelson Mandela Prize 2020

United Nations Nelson Mandela Prize 2020

Fully Funded
Country: USA
City: New York
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


The United Nations calls applications for the United Nations Nelson Mandela Prize. The UN awarded the prize for the first time in 2015 and it will award it for the second time in 2020.

About the Prize

Once every 5 years, commencing in 2015, an honorary award will be presented as a tribute to the outstanding achievements and contributions of 2 laureates: one female and one male who shall not be selected from the same geographic region. In recognition of the humility of Nelson Mandela, the Prize awarded to each winner is a plaque engraved with an appropriate citation and a relevant quotation. The Committee for the Prize, in consultation with the UN Secretary-General, determine the quotation.

Nomination Criteria

The UN will nominate the candidates from the following categories for the Nelson Mandela Prize.

  • The organizers receive the nominations from a broad variety of sources including the Member States and observer States of the UN.
  •  The entities and intergovernmental organizations receiving an invitation to participate as observers in sessions
  • In addition to that, institutions of higher education as well as independent research centers and institutes
  • NGOs in consultative status with Economic and Social Council as well as the laureates of the Prize.
  • Moreover, the secretariat receives the nominations and presents the consolidated list to a committee that selects the winners.
  • Furthermore, the Committee also selects 5 outstanding individuals as honorary members to serve in an advisory capacity for a specific term during the selection process every 5 years. The individuals must have made significant contributions to the service of humanity and to promoting the purposes and principles of the UN. In addition to that, their selection is based on equitable geographical representation.


The candidates must meet the following requirements to be eligible for the award.

  • The prime ambition of this award is to recognize the achievements of those who dedicated their lives to the service of humanity
  • Also, it also pays honor and homage to Mandela’s extraordinary life and legacy of reconciliation, political transition, and social transformation.
  • The candidates’ selection is based on equitable geographical representation.
  • Moreover, no current staff member of any organization of the United Nations system shall be eligible for the Prize.


  • The application deadline is 28th February 2020.
  • Moreover, the name of the winners of the award will be disclosed in May of the year,2020. Subsequently, the candidates will also receive prizes.
  • Furthermore, the Secretary-General will present the Prize at an award ceremony as part of the General Assembly commemoration of Nelson Mandela International Day (18 July) at UN Headquarters.

For more details, visit the official page.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline28 February,2020
CityNew York
Open toAll
OrganizerUnited Nations
Contact the organizerhttps://www.un.org/en/



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.