Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme

Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are open for the Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers from European Neighbouring Countries. Coimbra Group Universities have been providing, since 1999, young researchers from the European Neighbourhood with the opportunity to spend a short stay at a Coimbra Group University to carry out part of their research work.

Universities of the Coimbra Group offer short-term visits to young researchers from higher education institutions from countries in the European Neighbourhood. The main aim of this scholarship programme is to enable scholars to undertake research in which they are engaged in their home institution and to help them to establish academic and research contacts. The scholarships are financially supported by the Coimbra Group member universities participating in this programme, while the Coimbra Group Office is in charge of the administrative management of the applications.

Eligible Countries

Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Republic of Northern Macedonia, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo1 , Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Russia, Serbia, Syria, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan

Participating Universities

The following Coimbra Group Universities are participating in the 2021 edition of the Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme:

  • Eötvös Loránd University (Hungary)
  • University of Granada (Spain)
  • Karl Franz University of Graz (Austria)
  • University of Heidelberg (Germany)
  • Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi (Romania)
  • Jagiellonian University Krakow (Poland)
  • KU Leuven (Belgium)
  • University of Padova (Italy)
  • University of Poitiers (France)
  • University of Salamanca (Spain)
  • University of Siena (Italy)


To be eligible for the Coimbra Group Scholarship Programme for Young Researchers, applicants must be

  • Born on or after 1 January 1986.
  • Nationals of and current residents in one of the above-listed countries.
  • Current academic staff members of a university or an equivalent higher education institution located in one of the above-listed countries.
  • Of postdoctoral or equivalent status, although some institutions may offer opportunities to doctoral students.

Eligibility criteria and list of participating universities


Type of Opportunity Scholarships and Fellowships
Deadline16 April,2021
Open toAll



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.