Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Design That Educates Awards 2020

Design That Educates Awards 2020

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


The Design that Educates Awards (DtEA) recognize, showcase, and promote globally the best ideas and implementations of architecture and design that can educate. Further, the design itself may provide an informative and educational layer that guides us through the increasing complexity of our environment. It can showcase specific possibilities and challenges, explain sociocultural factors and influences, or even outline new scenarios for future development

What will the winner of Design That Educates Awards receive?

The winners, laureates of prizes, honorable mentions, and nominations will be selected in each category: (1) architectural design, (2) product design, (3) universal design, and (4) responsive design. The winners in each category will receive a Gold Prize, a Silver prize and a Bronze Prize as well as honorable mentions. In addition to the general evaluation, the student project with the highest score will receive the label of Emerging Designers. Parallel to the jury’s evaluation, representatives of Solarlux will select the laureates of Solarlux Choice. The projects of the winners and laureates of honorable mentions will be exhibited during the ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference at the Solarlux Campus in Germany on April 23–24, 2020. Further, Laka Foundation will invite the laureates to present their designs during the ceremony.

How to apply for the Design that Educates Awards?

The application process for the Design that Educates Awards requires the candidates to register for the competition online. Only after the successful registration can the participants submit their design. Further, the registration process requires participants to pay the registration fee as well. Moreover, the participants may enter as a team.

  • Team of professionals: Early 125 USD; Regular 150 USD; Late 175 USD
  • Individual professional: Early 75 USD; Regular 100 USD; Late 125 USD
  • Team of students: Early 50 USD; Regular 75 USD; Late 100 USD
  • Individual student: Early 25 USD; Regular 50 USD; Late 75 USD

Further, to submit their design, the participants must follow the submission procedure as:

  1. images of your design saved as JPG files in RGB mode with 200 dpi (up to 5 files, participants are free to decide about the graphical composition and content of the graphical files);
  2. description of your design saved as DOC file (up to 500 words);
  3. information about the author(s) saved as DOC file (eg. team members, companies, credits for photos, etc.). The set of all files should not be larger than 10 MB in sum.


The deadline for the Design That Educates Awards are:

  • Early registration: until August 1, 2019
  • Regular registration: until November 1, 2019
  • Late registration: until February 1, 2020
  • Project submission deadline: Until February 2, 2020


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 February,2020
Open toAll Nationalities
OrganizerLaka Foundation
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.