Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards 2020 (Win $5,000 and a trip to the US)

OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards 2020 (Win $5,000 and a trip to the US)

Country: USA
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


The call for submission of applications is now opened for the OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards. Further,  for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World, a high-profile award that honors the scientific and career achievements of women from developing countries. Applications for the 2020 OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards will be until 29 August 2019 for early-career women who have made significant contributions in the fields of Engineering and Technology. Further, Evidence of innovation will be considered favorably.


  • The cash prize of USD 5,000.
  • Further, An all-expenses-paid trip to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting, which will take place on 13-16 February 2020 in Seattle.

The 5 awards will be as follows: one for each of the four regions of the developing world, Further, an additional ¨floating” award for an outstanding candidate from any of these regions.


  • The applicant must be a female scientist who has received her PhD within the previous ten years;

In addition, the applicant must have lived and worked in one of the following science and technology lagging countries for at least 5 of the last 15 years:

  • Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem. Rep. Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, also, Zimbabwe.
  • Arab Region: Djibouti, Palestine (West Bank & Gaza Strip), Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Yemen.
  • Asia and the Pacific: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Lao Peoples Dem. Rep., Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, also, Vanuatu.
  • Latin America and the Caribbean: Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay.

Selection Criteria

  • Scientific merit (eg. quality of publications)
  • International and regional impact (eg. invitations to present or chair at meetings; also, organization or participation on workshops; collaborations with scientists from other countries; national or regional awards received)
  • Additionally, Capacity building – local, national and regional (eg. evidence of running MSc or PhD training programmes; developing and providing resources for students and young researchers; mentoring activities).
  • Evidence of innovation will be favorable.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline29 August,2019
Open toAll
Organizer OWSD
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.