Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press 2024 | Up to €10,000 |

Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press 2024 | Up to €10,000 |

Country: Africa
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press 2024 | Up to €10,000 |

The Samir Kassir Award is one of many expressions of our commitment to press freedom. Over the years, it has become a reference for thousands of journalists in the region who investigate or speak out on democracy, human rights, good governance and civic engagement. The Award has also given a voice to brave women journalists, who face even more intimidation and harassment than their male colleagues do.

The history of the Samir Kassir Award for Freedom of the Press dates back to 2005 when the European Commission first announced on 7 October 2005, the establishment of this European Union Award during a press conference held in Beirut.


Three awards will be granted for:

  • Best opinion article
  • Best investigative article
  • Best audiovisual news report.

Check: 2024 International Essay Contest for Young People | Prize of 100,000 Yen |


  • The winner in each of the three categories will be awarded €10,000.

Also check: ACU Early Career Conference Grants 2024 | Funded|

Eligibility for Samir Kassir Award

  • Candidates must submit an opinion article, an investigative article, or an audiovisual news report centered around one or more of the following topics: rule of law, human rights, good governance, fight against corruption, freedom of expression, democratic development, or citizen participation.
  • The contest is open to journalists nationals of the following countries: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq,  Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.
  • The submitted article must have been published in a print or online media outlet in one of the countries listed above or in one of the European Union Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia,  Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden).
  • The audiovisual news report must have been aired on a local or satellite television network or released on an online television network in one of the countries listed above or in one of the European Union Member States.
  • The article must not exceed 25,000 characters and must have been published between March 16, 2023, and March 15, 2024.
  • The report must not exceed seven minutes and must have been released between March 16, 2023, and March 15, 2024.

You should check out: James Dyson Award 2024 Designers | Win $51,000 prize |

Applicati0n of Samir Kassir Award

To complete the online registration, make sure you provide:

  • Your personal information, which will be treated according to the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation rules.
  • The entire published article in its original form as well as a copy translated into English (the use of Google Translate or any other automatic translation tool is strictly forbidden) or the link to the original audiovisual news report in its original form with English subtitles and/or an English translation or description of the report.
  • A proof of publication or broadcast (link to the original copy or broadcast, or photocopy of the published article, or a letter proving the authenticity of the publication/broadcast, signed by the person in charge of the media outlet or their representative).
  • A resume.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 April,2024
OrganizerSamir Kassir Award
Contact the organizer [email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.