Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
TWAS-SAREP Regional Young Scientists' Prize 2019

TWAS-SAREP Regional Young Scientists’ Prize 2019

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


The World Academy of Sciences Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Partner wishes to invite you. They invite you to nominate suitable candidates for the TWAS-SAREP Regional Young Scientists’ Prize 2019 on Infectious Diseases.

TWAS-SAREP seeks to honor an outstanding young scientist/Investigator in health sciences who has made a significant contribution to the prevention and control of communicable and non-communicable infectious diseases initiatives in developing countries. The ideal candidate would have contributed through research output that demonstrates impact on human health; advocacy for health equity; training and mentorship of investigators; excellent contributions through clinical or basic research in infectious diseases; recognized contributions to public health through scientific achievements, philanthropy, and policy related engagements. Moreover, the ideal candidate must have been in community engagement and must have published in a reputable, high impact journal.

Moreover, The prize is awarded in fulfillment of the TWAS objective of recognizing, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world. Further, The deadline for nominations is 5 August 2019. The 2019 TWAS-SAREP Regional Young Scientists’ Prize is aligned to the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goal #3.  “Ensure healthy lives and promote wellbeing for all at all ages”. Also, This goal strongly features in other SDGs and in the seven Science. Also, Technology and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA) 2024 priority areas.

The Award

  • The award comprises a certificate with a citation of the winner’s scientific achievement, as well as a cash prize of 2000 USD.
  • The winner will be formally announced at the Science Forum South Africa 2019.


  • Candidates must be nationals of countries in sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Nominees must have a PhD and be 40 years or below.
  • Further, Contestants must have made significant contributions to the prevention and control of communicable and non-communicable infectious diseases initiatives in the developing countries
  • be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least three years.


  • Nominations are welcome from TWAS Fellows, AAS Fellows, Fellow/Members of National Academies and Young Academies of science in the region, research institutions, research councils and universities in the region.
  • Priorities to the nomination of women and scientists from STLCs and LDCs
  • Access Nomination form here: TWAS-SAREP RYSP 19
  • The form should be complete while submitting before or on 5 August 2019, late submissions/incomplete nominations will not be accepted; all nominations must be online using the provided form and all the supporting documents must be to [email protected]
  • When submitting attachments, the subject of the email must quote the surname of the nominee e.g Morokong_TWAS-SAREP


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline05 August,2019
Open toAll



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.