Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2024

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2024

Country: Africa
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2024

UNESCO is currently accepting nominations for the 2024 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes. They’re encouraging literacy education experts to apply and urging nominating organizations to recommend candidates from around the world.

Similar to previous years, six awards will be given to individuals or organizations with exceptional projects that advance literacy learning. This year, programmes are asked to center around the theme “Promoting multilingual education: Literacy for mutual understanding and peace.”

The theme shows how, in today’s world, where multilingualism is a common practice for many, adopting a first-language-based, multilingual approach can help promote mutual understanding and respect, while solidifying communal identities and collective histories. For over 50 years, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have been honoring excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. With over 518 projects and programmes recognized and supported globally, they’ve celebrated exceptional contributions in this domain.

About the Prizes

In 2022, at least one out of seven adults aged 15 and above (765 million) lacked basic literacy skills (UIS, 2024). Additionally, millions of children are struggling to acquire minimum levels of proficiency in reading, writing and numeracy, while some 250 million children of 6-18 years old are out of school. To close the literacy gap and promote possibilities for future learning and social participation, UNESCO awards six laureates with two highly esteemed literacy prizes on annual basis:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards): established in 1989 and supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea.This Prize gives special consideration to programmes that promote mother language-based literacy development which helps preserve linguistic diversity and empower individuals and communities to participate more fully in global conversations, work, and cultures.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards): established in 2005 and supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China. The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy acknowledges programmes that endorse various forms of literacy, including functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth. This Prize recognizes the importance of literacy in a world where connected technologies are increasingly integral to participation in areas of life, learning, and work.

Check: Association of Commonwealth University(ACU) HR in HE Community Grants 2024


  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize: Each award winner receives a medal, a diploma and US$20,000.
  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy:  Each of the 3 winners receives a medal, a diploma and US$30,000.

Also Check: Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for Journalism 2024 || Apply Now

Eligibility of 2024 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who contribute to the promotion and advancement of literacy learning through projects and programmes.
  • Applications should be submitted to the nominating entities either the National Commission for UNESCO in the programme’s country, or a NGO in official partnership with UNESCO, who are encouraged to submit the nominated individuals’, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO.

Check: The Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI) – Armenia (2024)

Application for 2024 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

  • Deadline for candidates to submit applications to nominating entities: 5 July 2024 (midnight, Paris time).
  • Deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 19 July 2024 (midnight, Paris time).


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline05 July,2024



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.