Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education 2022

UNESCO Prize for Girl’s & Women’s Education 2022

Fully Funded
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


The UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education honors outstanding and innovative contributions made by individuals, institutions, as well as organizations to advance girls’ and women’s education. It is the first UNESCO Prize of this nature and is unique in showcasing successful projects that improve and promote the educational prospects of girls and women and in turn, the quality of their lives.


The Prize has two laureates and consists of an award of US $50,000 each to help further their work in the area of girls’ and women’s education.

Online Nomination Process

Who can nominate?

Governments of UNESCO Member States via their Permanent Delegations to UNESCO and Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO can make up to 3 nominations. Moreover, self-nominations are not eligible.

Who can be nominated?

Individuals, institutions, as well as organizations advancing girls’ and women’s education are eligible for nomination. Nominations must focus on an established project or program of the candidate, which has been running for at least two years and also meets the selection criteria.

How to be nominated?

If you, your institution, or organization meet the selection criteria, please contact your country’s National Commission to UNESCO or a relevant NGO in official partnership with UNESCO.

Selection Criteria

  • has a clear focus on advancing girls’ and women’s education, and the promotion of gender equality in and through education, and also contributes to one or more of the five priority areas of the Prize:
    • Participation
    • Literacy
    •  Environment
    • Teachers
    • Skills
  • has already been running for at least two years at the time of nomination
  • shows evidence that it may be replicable, scalable, and/or provide significant learning potential for initiatives in other contexts

Once it has passed the basic eligibility requirements, the project/program of the candidate will be assessed by the Jury based on the following three criteria:

  1. Impact
  2. Innovation
  3. Also, Sustainability


  • Launch of the call for nominations (8 March, International Women’s Day)
  • Submission of nominations online (8 March – 20 May)
  • Meeting of the International Jury (June/July)
  • Announcement of the Prize laureates (early October)
  • Award ceremony (11 October, International Day of the Girl Child)



Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline20 May,2022
Open toAll
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.