Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Call for Applications: QARIB Journalism Awards 2023

Call for Applications: QARIB Journalism Awards 2023

Fully Funded
Country: Jordan
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are invited for the QARIB Journalism Awards 2023. The Qarib Journalism Awards aim to recognize and promote journalism that amplifies underrepresented voices and topics. The awards prioritize the coverage of women, marginalized groups and environmental issues while maintaining the highest ethical and journalistic standards. This includes challenging stereotypes about the role of female journalists.

Women continue to be underrepresented in political, security, and economic reporting, and thus their perspectives on these issues relevant to society as a whole. In addition, the awards aim to elevate the voices of other socioeconomically, religiously and ethnically marginalized groups. Climate change as well as environmental issues in general that affect all members of Middle Eastern society, are also not sufficiently covered despite their relevance. The awards aim to help improve this and honor those journalists from Iraq, Palestine, Jordan and Lebanon who cover these topics.

See More: Ingressive for Good (I4G) Marketing Scholarship 2023


  • Best coverage of security and politics by female journalists
  • Best business and economy reporting by female journalists
  • Best reporting on climate change and the environment
  • Best coverage of minorities
  • Special price: Best reporting concept and travel stipend for the UN Climate Change Conference COP 28 in December 2023 Dubai

QARIB Journalism Awards

  • In each category, Qarib will award three winners:
    • $2,000 USD for the first place,
    • $1,500 USD for the second place,
    • $1,000 USD for the third place.
  • The special price for the best reporting concept for the COP 28 in Dubai will include a full travel stipend, including costs for board and lodging for up to seven days during the climate conference in December.
  • The 15 award winners will be honored at a ceremony in Amman on October 12, 2023. The Qarib program will cover all expenses for the winners to attend the event.

Eligibility for QARIB Journalism Awards

  • Practicing individual freelance journalists, teams of journalists and staff journalists from media outlets in Palestine, Jordan, Iraq and Lebanon are eligible to apply.
  • All journalistic formats and forms are eligible, i.e. videos, print and online articles, radio reports and podcasts as well as TV and multimedia reports, columns, feature and investigative reports.
  • Submitted contributions must have been published between November 1, 2022 and the end of the application period on August 1, 2023.

Selection Criteria of QARIB Journalism Awards

The seven-member jury will consist of experienced media professionals from the Middle East, representatives of CFI, CSOs, and think tanks. They will apply the following criteria:

  • Representation: How well does the reporting represent marginalized voices and topics, particularly those of women, socioeconomically and ethnically marginalized groups as well as climate change related issues.
  • Originality: The award recognizes original, creative and innovative approaches to format and reporting, particularly those that break stereotypes and challenge traditional narratives.
  • Accuracy and depth of the reporting.
  • Ethical Standards of the reporting, particularly in terms of impartiality, fairness, and balance.
  • Public Service: The jury also considers how the reporting served the public interest, particularly by providing valuable information and analysis to the public.

Application of QARIB Journalism Awards

  • Fill in the application template (Download here). Note that the written content must be translated into English, for the audio content an English summary must be provided, the video content must have English subtitles. Eventual expenses must be borne by the applicants and have to be taken into account when applying.
  • Add your CV
  • Send it no later than August 1, 2023 at 8:00 PM Amman time to [email protected] 

See More; Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering 2024 | Cash Prizes

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 August,2023
Open toAll
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.