Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
CASW Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award 2023 | Funded

CASW Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award 2023 | Funded

Fully Funded
Country: USA
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications for the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) Sharon Begley Science Reporting Award 2023 are now open. The award, given annually, recognises and supports reporting and writing that embodies the high standards exemplified by Sharon Begley (1956–2021), a science journalist of unflinching dedication, skill, moral clarity, and commitment to mentoring.

This award is intended for science, health, and environmental journalists whose careers and work embody the extraordinary qualities of Sharon Begley’s journalism, which was known for:

See More: International Scholarships in Poland 2023 || Apply Now

  • depth, especially scientific depth
    • writing that helps the reader understand science
    • precision and care in explaining scientific evidence
  • authority
  • approachability, humor, and respect for the reader
  • exhaustive reporting; careful, thorough sourcing
  • powerful, vivid, clear, humane writing and masterful storytelling
  • fearless pursuit of truth
  • myth-busting and ground-breaking reporting
  • insight

Begley Science Reporting Award

  • The Sharon Begley Award comprises a career prize, recognizing the accomplishments of a mid-career science journalist, and a grant of at least $20,000 to enable the winner to undertake a significant project.

Eligibility for Begley Science Reporting Award

  • Candidates must be experienced journalists who have compiled a substantial body of work in science journalism, defined as print, audio, video, and online reporting on science, health/medicine, environment, mathematics, and technology.
  • Candidates should have been working journalists for at least 8–10 years, including significant experience in science journalism, or provide equivalent evidence of commitment to the field. Time spent as an editor counts toward eligibility.
  • Current CASW board members, staff, and contractors, as well as members of their households, are ineligible. Journalists who have served on the Sharon Begley Award Advisory Committee become eligible three years after their service ends.

Application of Begley Science Reporting Award

The following are components of your entry:

  • Work samples
  • Supporting documents
    • Cover letter
    • Resume
    • Supporting letters
  • Project proposal

See More: CMCC Climate Change Communication Award 2023

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline30 April,2023
Open toAll
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.