Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards 2023

Covering Climate Now Journalism Awards 2023

Fully Funded
Country: USA
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are open for the Covering Climate Now (CCNow) Journalism Awards 2023. The CCNow Journalism Awards honor excellent reporting on all dimensions of the climate story globally.

They are looking for exceptional climate storytelling marked by any of the following qualities:

See More: How to get Full Scholarships to study in Australia

  • Communicates the many facets of the climate emergency, with stories that include, for example, business and economic impacts, public health consequences, domestic and global political issues, as well as the effect of climate change on Earth’s ecosystems.
  • Examines solutions emerging from politics, science, technology, manufacturing, agriculture, and other sectors, as well as policy solutions or solutions stemming from community initiatives and activism.
  • Emphasizes the disproportionate impacts of climate change on communities of color, Indigenous peoples, the poor, women, children, and other marginalized people.
  • Makes climate change accessible and digestible for audiences, with stories rooted in science but not bogged down by it.
  • Demonstrates the human dimensions of the climate story, for example by highlighting the intersection of climate change with social issues like immigration, justice, and poverty.
  • Holds power to account and calls out disinformation and unethical behavior.
  • Breaks climate news out of the rut of partisan framing and demonstrates how the climate emergency is a collective problem that transcends politics and virtually all social fault lines.

Covering Climate Now’s 2021 and 2022 Awards together honored work from 74 countries by journalists at outlets including the Guardian, Reuters, Agence-France Presse, CNN, PBS NewsHour, Al Jazeera, Channel 4 (UK), the Los Angeles Times, TIME, Rolling Stone, and The Nation, as well as such smaller outlets as Grist, the Post and Courier, and The New Humanitarian. Winners of the 2022 awards were featured in “Burning Questions,” a TV special hosted by Al Roker and Savannah Sellers of NBC News and broadcast on public broadcasting’s WORLD Channel in the US and streamed on YouTube.

Categories of Climate Now Journalism Awards

Entry categories include:

  • Writing — Short- and Long-form work; Newsletters; and Commentary
  • Audio — Short- and Long-form work; and Radio or Podcast Series
  • Video — Short- and Long-form work; and Documentary
  • Multimedia
  • Photography
  • Social Media
  • Engagement Journalism
  • Emerging Journalist
  • Student Journalist

Eligibility for Climate Now Journalism Awards

  • Submissions are accepted from journalists everywhere, representing news outlets big and small and from those working as freelancers.
  • Outlets may also submit entries that include pieces produced by several journalists.
  • If the original work is not in English, provide English-language translations in addition to the original work as an attachment.
  • All eligible work must have been published or broadcast in 2022. Stories must be about climate change, not just the environment.

Application of Climate Now Journalism Awards

The deadline for entries is March 15, 2023. There is no entry fee, and news outlets are not required to be CCNow partners to participate.

See More: Study For Free With Australia Awards Scholarship 2024 | Apply Now

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline15 March,2023
Open toAll
OrganizerCovering Climate Now
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.