Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award 2022

IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award 2022

Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are open for the IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award 2022. The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus.

With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja. The Award recognizes the importance of visual journalistic work that inspires us to take action and compels us to better understand the world. Created in 2014 with a $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, the Award will be given annually to a woman photojournalist whose work reflects courage and dedication, as Anja’s does.

See More; Fully Funded Netflix Creative Equity Scholarships 2022

 Photojournalism Award

  • The Award winner gets public honor,  have her work showcased, and receive a cash prize of $20,000.

Eligibility Required for Photojournalism Award

  • The award is open to women, non-binary and gender nonconforming journalists.
  • The candidate must be working as a journalist full-time, and journalism must be their primary profession.
  • Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.
  • Must not have won or should get recognition as an honorable mention for the award in the past five years.

Judging Criteria for Photojournalism Award

  • Firstly, Quality of photography
  • Secondly, Composition of portfolio
  • Thirdly, Storytelling ability
  • Additionally, Conditions under which the journalist worked
  • Candidate statement
  • Reflection of Anja Niedringhaus’s values


The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations for the 2022 Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award until February 24, 2022.

See More: Covering Road Safety in Uganda || Training for Journalists

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline24 February,2022
Open toAll
OrganizerInternational Women's Media Foundation



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.