Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award 2023

IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award 2023

Fully Funded
Country: USA
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are open for the IWMF Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award 2023. The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014), with a generous $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation.

With this Award, the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja who inspire us to take action and better understand the world. This courageous work manifests in many different forms which may include but is not limited to conflict or frontline reporting.

See More: Call for Applications: African Girls Can Code Initiative Phase II

Prize for Courage in Photojournalism Award

  • Recipients of the Courage Award will receive a cash prize of $20,000 and have their work showcased during an award ceremony.

Eligibility for Courage in Photojournalism Award

  • The award is open to women, nonbinary and gender nonconforming journalists.
  • The candidate must be working as a journalist full-time, and journalism must be their primary profession.
  • Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.

Judging Criteria for Courage in Photojournalism Award

  • Quality of photography
  • Composition of portfolio
  • Storytelling ability
  • Conditions under which the journalist worked
  • Candidate statement
  • Reflection of Anja Niedringhaus’s values


The IWMF will accept applications and third-party nominations in English until March 3, 2023. Each nomination and application must include candidate information, work samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.

See More: IAS Scholarship | Attend the 12th IAS Conference on HIV Science 2023

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline03 March,2023
Open toAll
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.