Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Right Livelihood Award 2023 | Funded

Right Livelihood Award 2023 | Funded

Fully Funded
Country: Sweden
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Do you know any courageous and innovative change-makers who strive to create a more just, peaceful and sustainable world for those around them? Nominate the for the Right Livelihood Award 2023.

The Right Livelihood Award was established in 1980 to “honour and support courageous people solving global problems”. It has become widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’ and there are over 174 Laureates from more than 70 countries.

See More: New European Bauhaus Prizes 2023 | Funded

About the Right Livelihood Award

In 1979, the Swedish-German philanthropist and stamp collector Jakob von Uexkull turned to the Nobel Foundation with the proposal to create two new Nobel Prizes, one environmental award and one award to promote knowledge and perspectives of people in poor countries. To fund the prizes, he offered to sell his stamp collection, worth more than one million US Dollars, and donate the money to the Nobel Foundation.

“Whoever gets the Nobel Prize will be listened to”, he thought and contacted the Nobel Foundation, which politely rejected the proposal to establish two new awards. There and then, Jakob decided to create the Right Livelihood Award to support people fighting for a just, peaceful and sustainable world. He went ahead and sold parts of the stamp collection, and that was how it all began. The Right Livelihood Award received a lot of attention when it was presented for the first time in 1980, one day before the Nobel Prize. Today, it is one of the most prestigious awards in sustainability, social justice and peace.

Income from the sale of stamps generated sufficient means to kick off the prize but ever since the Award has been receiving its funding from private donors. A unique feature is that the Award comes with long-term support that includes networking and protection for Laureates under threat. Because of its founding history, it has come to be known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’.

Right Livelihood Award

Typically, the Jury selects recipients for three Cash Awards and one Honorary Award each year.

  • The Cash Awards are intended for work in progress or the extension of existing activities; they are never given for personal use.
  • The Honorary Award is intended for nominees whose primary need is not cash support but who would benefit from the considerable recognition and publicity, which the Right Livelihood Award generates.
  • The Honorary Award may also be applicable in cases where it is not safe for the nominee to receive future funds.

Eligibility for Right Livelihood Award

  • Nominations are fully open to the public;
  • Nominee may be from any country of the world;
  • Nominations are accepted in English, French and Spanish and can be submitted from mid-December until early March.

Nomination for Right Livelihood Award

Once a nomination has been received, the organisers reach out directly to the nominee for some points of information and their formal consent, which is a key aspect of their “do no harm” principle.

See More: CEC ArtsLink International Fellowship Program 2023 | Funded

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 March,2023
Open toAll
OrganizerRight Livelihood
Contact the organizer [email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.