Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

Country: Uganda
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024

The African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) is pleased to announce that submissions are now open for the 2024 annual Uganda National Journalism Awards (UNJA). This landmark event marks a decade of recognizing and celebrating outstanding journalistic contributions within the Ugandan media landscape. Journalists and media organisations and platforms across the nation are invited to submit their entries and participate in this historic 10th anniversary edition of the awards.


  • Gain well-deserved national recognition for your dedication to impactful journalism. Cement your place in Ugandan media history by joining the ranks of esteemed award winners.
  • Play a pivotal role in shaping the future of Ugandan media by contributing to high-quality journalism that empowers and informs the nation.
  • Benchmark your work against industry standards. Participating in the competition allows you to assess your work against the highest standards in Ugandan journalism. The judging process, conducted by seasoned and respected media professionals, provides valuable feedback that can help you refine your skills and strengthen your craft.
  • The competition can reignite your passion for storytelling and push you to explore new avenues within your expertise. Share your best work with a wider audience.
  • Participating in the awards can create a sense of pride and accomplishment within your team. Recognition for their hard work can boost morale and motivate staff to continue producing impactful journalism.

Check: Embark on Your Academic Odyssey with Wayfinder Society’s Student Mini Grants 2024: Unlocking $15,000 USD for Your Educational Journey

Eligibility for Uganda National Journalism Awards

  • The competition is open to all journalists, whether freelance or full-time, as well as independent content producers working in Uganda.
  • Entries are welcome from anyone producing journalistic content on any platform, online or offline. This means that independent content producers who published journalistic content relevant to the competition are also welcome to submit entries.
  • Submitted work must have been published or broadcast in a Ugandan media outlet or a regional news outlet that is widely accessible in Uganda.
  • There is a total of 21 categories in this competition: 3 institutional-based awards and 18 subject-based awards.
  • All work (for subject-based entries) and strategies (for institutional-based entries, apart from the Stanbic Shield of Journalism category) submitted must have been broadcast, published, or implemented between 1 January and 31 December.

Entry formats for subject-based categories:

  • PRINT ENTRIES: Submit clean, clearly legible, text-recognizable PDF documents with visible publication dates. Photographs/illustrations should be sent as published in PDF format or as cuttings of the original published copies.
  • RADIO/PODCAST ENTRIES: Submit full audio form entries not exceeding 60 minutes. Large files should be sent using Google Drive or other large file FTP services.
  • TELEVISION/VIDEO ENTRIES: Emailed entries must be in MP4, AVI, or MOV format, not exceeding 60 minutes. Large files should be sent using Google Drive or other large-file FTP services. If sending files through a third-party platform, indicate this in the submission form.
  • ONLINE ENTRIES: Provide offline versions of online published work in legible, machine-readable PDF format. Working live or cached links for the articles must be provided to verify publication or broadcast.

Also Check: Youth4Climate Call for Solutions 2024 | up to $30,000 |

Application of Uganda National Journalism Awards

All submissions must be made online using either one of the following submission forms:


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline30 April,2024
Organizer African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME)



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.