Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 (up to $10,000)

UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 (up to $10,000)

Country: Africa
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 (up to $10,000)

The UN FAO Innovation Award 2024, established during the Forty-second session of the FAO Conference on 18 June 2021, aims to recognize groundbreaking innovation within FAO’s mandate, honoring a diverse array of recipients including Member States and non-state partners.

Agricultural innovation is the process whereby individuals or organizations bring new or existing products, processes or ways of organization into use for the first time in a specific context in order to increase effectiveness, competitiveness, resilience to shocks or environmental sustainability and thereby contribute to food security and nutrition, economic development or sustainable natural resource management.

Innovation consists of doing something new and different, whether solving an old problem in a new way, addressing a new problem with a proven solution, or bringing a new solution to a new problem.

Award of UN FAO Innovation Award 

Successful applicant will receive:

  • a scroll describing the recipient’s achievements and/or award,
  • a cash prize of USD 10,000.

Check: Empowering Tomorrow’s Innovators: The Human Mobility Initiative Fund 2024 (Up to 30.000 EUR)


  • The FAO Award for Innovation will be conferred for ground-breaking innovation in areas under FAO’s mandate to a broad spectrum of awardees, including Members, institutions, individuals, international/regional organizations, academic or research entities, civil society organizations private sector entities.
  • The Award will recognise but not be limited, for example, to innovations on agri-food systems, digital agriculture, agri-food innovation systems, advances in biotechnology, innovation in sustainable production practices such as Agro-ecology, new business models, etc.
  • The innovations could fall under different categories such as technological, institutional, social, policy and financial innovations.

Also Check: WTO Essay Award for Young Economists 2024 (prize of CHF 5,000) 

Criteria for UN FAO Innovation Award

Award specific criteria:

  • Have an impact on more than one level of the supply chain from agricultural producers (e.g. farmers, herders, fishers) to consumers.
  • Strengthen the link between agricultural producers and consumers through innovative mechanisms (e.g innovative institutional arrangements, policy and financial mechanisms, social processes, innovative technological solutions including digital tools, platforms connecting producers and consumers, innovative ways of access to markets and consumers etc.,) with due consideration to environmental, economic and social dimensions of sustainability.

General criteria:

  • Quality and merit of the innovation
  • Potential benefit, impact and sustainability
  • Accessibility and affordability of the innovation
  • Scalability
  • Value for money
  • Role of youth (under 35), and/or women, and/or marginalized groups.


The text of the detailed nomination should be self-contained and should provide concrete elements and information. The nomination can be submitted electronically at the form below or sent via mail at [email protected]


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline01 March,2024
OrganizerFood and Agricultural Organization Of United Nations



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.