Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022

UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022

Fully Funded
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


UNESCO has just opened its call for applications for the prestigious UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

Like every year, UNESCO will reward six individuals or organizations for their outstanding projects that promote literacy learning, and for this year’s edition are requested to reflect on the theme ‘Transforming literacy learning spaces’.

The theme aims to present the different existing learning spaces (work, school, family, learning centers) and highlight the relation and various interconnections among them.


Currently, there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards)

  •  It gives special consideration to mother language-based literacy development. Read the statutes.
  • Each of the three UNESCO King Sejong prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma, and US$20.000.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

  • It gives special consideration to functional literacy, leveraging technological environments, in support of adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth. Read the statutes.
  • Each of the three UNESCO Confucius prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma, and US$30.000.


  • The application is open to all governments, non-governmental organizations, and individuals
  • Your projects and/or programs should contribute to the promotion and advancement of literacy learning.

How to Enter/Nominate?

All applications should be submitted to the nominating entities, the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the program, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO, who are encouraged to communicate the nominated individuals, institutions, and organizations to UNESCO.

The nominations will be assessed by an independent International Jury, composed of five experts on the basis of the selection criteria. Based on the recommendations of the International Jury, the Director-General of UNESCO will select the finalists to be awarded on the occasion of International Literacy Day on 8 September.


  • Deadline for candidates to submit applications to nominating entities: 6 June 2022 (midnight, Paris time).
  • Deadline for nominating entities to submit their nominations to UNESCO: 20 June 2022 (midnight, Paris time).



Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline06 June,2022
Open toAll
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.