Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024 (Prize of US$100,000)

UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024 (Prize of US$100,000)

Country: Nansen Middle East and North Africa
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024 (Prize of US$100,000)

The UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award is given annually to an individual, group or organization that has shown outstanding dedication and service to people forced to flee their homes or people who are stateless. Since 2017, we have also recognized several regional winners each year.

The Award is named after the celebrated Norwegian explorer and humanitarian Fridtjof Nansen. Through its recipients, the Award aims to showcase Nansen’s values of perseverance and commitment in the face of adversity.


  • The 2023 global laureate received a commemorative medal and a monetary prize of US$100,000 to be reinvested in the humanitarian initiatives for which they are being recognized.
  • Regional winners also received some financial or material support to further their humanitarian work.

Check: The Equator Prize 2024: Celebrating Champions of Environmental Excellence (up to $10,000)

Eligibility of UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award

  • Candidates may be individuals, groups or organizations.
  • Their work must have a direct and positive impact on the lives of forcibly displaced or stateless people.
  • Their work relates to a major displacement situation or issue.
  • This year we especially encourage nominations that relate to statelessness, climate, sports, solutions and inclusions but we are open to other themes.
  • They devote substantial time and effort to support forcibly displaced or stateless people, going above and beyond the call of duty and outside their expected role.
  • They have the capacity to successfully implement a suitable project with the prize money (US$100,000 for the global laureate, US$25,000 for regional winners).
  • They have three strong references.

Also Check: Arrell Global Food Innovation Awards 2024 ($100,000 CAD Award)

Selection process 

  • The global laureate and regional winners are chosen by an independent Selection Committee.
  • The selection process remains strictly confidential, and no information regarding the status of your nomination will be released.
  • The 2024 global laureate and regional winners will be announced in late 2024.

Application for UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award

Please note that self-nominations are strongly discouraged. Current or former UNHCR employees are not eligible.
The deadline to submit nominations is midnight CET, 20 March 2024. Late submissions will not be considered.

The nomination period for the 2024 UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award is now open and will run from January 24 until March 20, 2024. 


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Deadline20 March,2024
CountryNansen Middle East and North Africa
Contact the organizer [email protected].



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.