Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Dag Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships 2023 | Funded

Dag Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships 2023 | Funded

Fully Funded
Country: USA
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications are open for the Dag Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships 2023. The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists accepts applications from career print, television, radio or internet journalists from the mainly developing nations of Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island nations), Latin America/the Caribbean to cover deliberations of the United Nations General Assembly for approximately 10-12 weeks beginning in September each year.

Journalists selected for the program will deepen their understanding of the work of the U.N. through first-hand observation of working sessions, press conferences, and interviews, thus enabling in-depth reporting on issues relevant to their audiences. They will interact with media colleagues from around the world and learn about the challenges which journalism faces in other countries.

See More: Megatrends Afrika Fellowship Program 2023 | Funded

Fund board members and other U.N. journalists are available to guide the Hammarskjöld Fellows in accessing the resources needed to prepare their reports. As schedules permit, arrangements will be made for the Fellows to visit with New York area media organizations, as well as institutions working to encourage and protect the journalism profession.

Fellowship Details

Over the past six decades, Hammarskjöld Fellowships have been awarded to hundreds of journalists from the developing world. The fellowship should be regarded as an opportunity for news organizations and journalists to provide their audiences with special assignment news coverage from U.N. headquarters.

The 2023 Fellowship will run concurrently with the opening months of the U.N. General Assembly (UNGA). The 78th UNGA will open on September 9 with general debates starting on September 19. Fellowship recipients will arrive in New York approximately 10 days prior to the UNGA in order to obtain UN Press passes, acclimate to the U.N. Secretariat and the city, and complete other administrative tasks.

Eligibility for Dag Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships 

  • Career journalists, age 25-35, from mainly developing nation of Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island countries) and Latin America/the Caribbean are eligible to apply.  Freelance journalists are also eligible.
  • Applicant journalists must have a current passport which will be required to apply for and obtain a I-1 journalist visa from a U.S. Embassy or Consulate in order to accept the Fellowship.
  • Work samples no earlier than 2022 must be provided.  (See Work Samples on Application Form)
  • Applicants must be employed by bona fide media organizations as print, television, radio or web journalists.
  • Speaking English with proficiency is required since it is one of the primary language used at the United Nations.
  • Journalists younger than 25 and older than 35 are not eligible to apply since the program is intended for mid-career journalists.
  • Students of journalism are not eligible to apply.
  • Journalists from European countries are not eligible to apply unless they are still reporting to audiences in their home country.

Application of Dag Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships 

Application requirements include:

  • A completed online application form.
  • A minimum of three (3) work samples published no earlier than 2022. If the samples are not in English, a summary of the samples in English must be included. If applicant reports are available on the Internet, the URL addresses should be included. If work samples are not available on the internet, copies should be uploaded to the Application Form (in Word, PDF, MP3 or JPEG formats). If not available on a media website, work samples may be uploaded to a publicly accessible online service, such as YouTube.
  • A statement (not more than 500 words) expressing a desire for the Fellowship how the experience will benefit the applicant’s understanding of international diplomacy and issues deliberated at the United Nations.
  • A copy of applicant’s current passport. Applicants without a current passport will not be considered.
  • Two letters of reference from individuals familiar with the applicant’s work and able to comment on their journalistic abilities, potential for growth and personal attributes.

Completed online applications, including required documentation uploads, must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. U.S. Eastern Daylight Time on April 24, 2023.

In preparing your application, be sure to complete all required fields (marked by *) and observe all instructions regarding maximum word counts and document upload requirements (PDF, Word, JPEG or MP3 formats). Incomplete Applications will not be accepted.

All application materials must be submitted in English or, where indicated, with an English translation. Applications that are in progress but have not been submitted by this deadline will not be considered.

See More: CiFAR Investigative Journalism Program 2023 | Funded

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Scholarships and Fellowships
Deadline24 April,2023
Open toAll
OrganizerUN Journalism Fellowship
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.