Login to your account
Don't have an account yet?
Create your own account and receive notifications of opportunities of your interest, save the opportunity you like and discuss.
Richard J. Margolis Award 2022 | Fully Funded

Richard J. Margolis Award 2022 | Fully Funded

Fully Funded
Country: USA
Looks like you haven't logged in.
Login to save opportunities.


Applications for the Richard J. Margolis Award 2022 for Nonfiction Writers of Social-justice Journalism are now open. The Richard J. Margolis Award is given annually to a promising new journalist or essayist whose nonfiction work combines warmth, humor and wisdom and sheds light on issues of social justice.

The award honors the life of Richard J. Margolis (1929-1991), a renowned journalist, essayist and poet who gave eloquent voice to the rural poor, migrant farmworkers, Native Americans, aging adults and others whose voices are seldom heard. He also wrote several books for children.

See More: Pulitzer Center Rainforest Journalism Fund Internship 2022

Margolis Award

  • The award combines a one-month residency at Blue Mountain Center, an acclaimed writers’ and artists’ colony in New York’s Adirondack Mountains, with a $10,000 prize.

Eligibility for Margolis Award

  • Open to promising journalist or essayist in the U.S.;
  • Applicant’s work should combine warmth, humor and wisdom and shed light on issues of social justice.

Application of Margolis Award

Submit the following materials either as separate documents or combined into one or more documents as specified below:

  • A cover letter stating your interest in and qualifications for the award;
  • A project description of your current and anticipated work and what you will work on during your Blue Mountain residency;
  • A brief biographical note; and
  • Two to three samples of your work, published or unpublished, meeting the following criteria:
    • Nonfiction samples only (no fiction or poetry);
    • 30 pages maximum; and
    • At least one sample being non-memoir material.

All materials may be emailed as PDF files (preferred) to [email protected] Please name all files starting with your last name (e.g., Smith-cover letter+description.pdf, Smith-writing sample.pdf, etc.).

If submitting paper materials, mail them to the address below. Please note that they cannot return samples.

Richard J. Margolis Award
c/o Margolis & Bloom
100 William Street
Suite 220
Wellesley, MA 02481

See More: Warsaw Euro-Atlantic Summer Academy 2022 | Funded

Lastly, It is important to visit the official website link found below to access the application form.

Correspondingly, Join us on Telegram for more opportunities!

Similarly, Visit oyaop.com and oyaschool.com for more scholarship opportunities.


Type of Opportunity Competitions and Awards
Open toAll
OrganizerMargolis Award
Contact the organizer[email protected]



Your email address will not be published. Fields marked with * are required.